What to do, or rather, what I did when I discovered I w

This Hunger Is Secret

I get this question now and then. I hear, “I am a burden to my family.” Or, “I’m just a drain on everyone.” Or, “I really don’t want to trouble anyone with my problems.”

Or what do when you find out rather suddenly, when you put two and two together and figure out those very nice folks really don’t want the likes of YOU hanging around? That they might be allowing you in, but they’re only doing this because they feel sorry for you, and would rather you weren’t there at all.

I’ve felt that way at many of the places I’ve been. Like I was the “charity case” being allowed in, but that I was not really wanted. Like I had nothing to contribute, really, but this was all tokenism, and maybe they’d include me, just to be “nice.”

I always felt that way when I was a young…

View original post 964 more words

4 thoughts on “What to do, or rather, what I did when I discovered I w

Leave a Reply

